EPeak Daily

M83 announce new album impressed by 80s online game music

0 8

‘The Legend of Zelda’ and ‘Solomon’s Key’ are the inspirations behind ‘DSVII’

M83 – the challenge of Anthony Gonzalez – have introduced a brand new album, ‘DSVII’. It arrives September 20 through Mute, however you’ll be able to try a preview and see its tracklist under.

(function ($) { var bsaProContainer = $('.bsaProContainer-6'); var number_show_ads = "0"; var number_hide_ads = "0"; if ( number_show_ads > 0 ) { setTimeout(function () { bsaProContainer.fadeIn(); }, number_show_ads * 1000); } if ( number_hide_ads > 0 ) { setTimeout(function () { bsaProContainer.fadeOut(); }, number_hide_ads * 1000); } })(jQuery);

‘DSVII’, which stands for ‘Digital Shades Vol. II’, is the sequel to ‘Digital Shades Vol. 1’. It comes three years after Gonzalez’s seventh studio album, ‘Junk’, and is principally impressed by online game music.

“Through the summer time of 2017, I spent 5 months in Cap d’Antibes, France. I primarily spent my time swimming within the Mediterranean Sea, studying, watching movies and taking part in 80s video video games,” he wrote in an announcement on his web site. “It felt so refreshing to play all of those old-school video games once more. There’s something so naive and touching about them. It’s easy and imperfect. And that is precisely what I attempted to attain with ‘Digital Shades Vol. 2’.”

‘DSVII’ was impressed by the soundtracks of The Legend of Zelda, Phantasy Star II, Solomon’s Key, Crystalis and different retro fare, Gonzalez revealed on his web site. Different references for the album embody the music of Mort Garson (together with the not too long ago reissued ‘Plantasia’ album), Brian Eno and Suzanne Ciani, in addition to films like Improbable Planet, Illusion and Gandahar.

‘DSVII’ is out there for pre-order right here. See the album artwork and take heed to a snippet within the following Instagram publish:

Gonzalez defined that he created ‘DSVII’ after a interval of artistic doldrums that set in after he dropped ‘Junk’. “I had a bizarre sensation that folks didn’t absolutely perceive the path of the report,” he wrote. “Regardless of a really profitable tour all around the world, I couldn’t cease considering that the followers had been disenchanted with ‘Junk’. And a sense of failure stayed with me for a really very long time…”

After a couple of yr engaged on music for the Cirque du Soleil’s Volta present, Gonzalez “felt empty; mentally and bodily exhausted”. “I went again dwelling to the south of France to relaxation and mirror on what would come subsequent with one concept in thoughts: this time, I wished to create for myself.”

The tracklist for ‘DVSII’:

1. ‘Hell Riders’
2. ‘A Little bit of Sweetness’
3. ‘Goodbye Captain Lee’
4. ‘Colonies’
5. ‘Meet the Buddies’
6. ‘Emotions’
7. ‘A Phrase of Knowledge’
8. ‘Lune de fiel’
9. ‘Jeux d’enfants’
10. ‘A Style of the Nightfall’
11. ‘Lunar Son’
12. ‘Oh Sure You’re There, On a regular basis’
13. ‘Mirage’
14. ‘Taifun Glory’
15. ‘Temple of Sorrow’

Leave A Reply

Hey there!

Sign in

Forgot password?

Processing files…